WITNESS X and REVIEWS

From one of the most original new voices in fiction comes a startling vision of a world where hero Kyra must fight the past to save our future. A genre-bending thriller for the Netflix generation, for fans of Altered Carbon, Dark and Mindhunter.

She’s the only one who can access the truth…

Fourteen years ago, the police caged a notorious serial killer who abducted and butchered two victims every February. He was safe behind bars. Wasn’t he?

But then another body is discovered, and soon enough, the race is on to catch the real killer. Neuropsychologist Kyra Sullivan fights to use a new technology that accesses the minds of the witnesses, working with the police to uncover the truth. Will Kyra discover the person behind the murders, and if so, at what cost? And how far will she go to ensure justice is served?

An addictive futuristic thriller, perfect for fans of Stranger Things.

A Desk of One’s Own

  Like anything one is trying to nurture, writing takes time and effort. Although it is considered a mainly cerebral activity, writing also needs physical space, somewhere to hide the scripts you might come back to, stack the books you mean to read, and scatter the pencil sharpenings as you launch into the next literary… Read more “A Desk of One’s Own”

Review Sarah Faichney

Great premise and what an opening! My heart was in my mouth from the start. “Witness X” is an at times brutal, gory, creepy, genre bending psychological thriller. Protagonist Kyra has invented technology that she hopes can be used to improve the efficiency of the criminal justice system. SE Moorhead’s imagination and attention to detail… Read more “Review Sarah Faichney”

Tea Party Princess review

From one of the most original new voices in fiction comes a startling vision of a world where hero Kyra must fight the past to save our future. A genre-bending thriller for the Netflix generation, for fans of Altered Carbon, Dark and Mindhunter.She’s the only one who can access the truth…Fourteen years ago, the police… Read more “Tea Party Princess review”

LizLovesBooks

Fourteen years ago, the police caged a notorious serial killer who abducted and butchered two victims every February. He was safe behind bars. Wasn’t he? But then another body is discovered, and soon enough, the race is on to catch the real killer. Neuropsychologist Kyra Sullivan fights to use a new technology that accesses the minds of… Read more “LizLovesBooks”

Book Mark That! review

Witness X, SE Moorhead: Book Review If you’re looking for a fast-paced, cannot-put-this-down thriller/ dystopian, look no further than Witness X by SE Moorhead. The plot: She’s the only one who can access the truth… Fourteen years ago, the police caged a notorious serial killer who abducted and butchered two victims every February. He was safe behind bars.… Read more “Book Mark That! review”

All My Pretty Books

Witness X by S.E. Moorhead – Book Review  Amanda Kennedy  Monday, August 10, 2020  Reviews A brief synopsis from the Goodreads page: Fourteen years ago, the police caged a notorious serial killer who abducted and butchered two victims every February. He was safe behind bars. Wasn’t he?But then another body is discovered, and soon enough, the race… Read more “All My Pretty Books”

Murder Murder News Review

by Kelly Silver October 10 2020 Witness X – SE Moorhead I heard about SE Moorhead via Twitter as I saw she was chatting with Stu Turton, the author of the rollercoaster that is 7 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle. I was so excited to get this book and absolutely devour it that I couldn’t wait… Read more “Murder Murder News Review”

How I found an Agent

Originally posted on S.E.Moorhead:
Finding an agent, I suspect, is not dissimilar from finding the love of your life – there’s so many possibilities out there, but only one is right for you, and it doesn’t happen every day. It can be a long disheartening process, but when it works out, you feel…

To Plan or Not to Plan…

Originally posted on S.E.Moorhead:
Someone asked me not long after the birth of my first son would I ever have another baby. My expression must have been one of horrified exhaustion and bewilderment. It was too soon to think about it. Now that my first novel is completed and about to leave home,…

CrimeReview

Witness X Can you trust the memories of anyone, let alone an apparent serial killer, if you are able to enter their mind and see their memories for yourself? The inventor of such a machine is drawn into an investigation to help find a determined and unusual serial killer Witness X is, interestingly, set in… Read more “CrimeReview”

A Desk of One’s Own

Originally posted on S.E.Moorhead:
? Like anything one is trying to nurture, writing takes time and effort. Although it is considered a mainly cerebral activity, writing also needs physical space, somewhere to hide the scripts you might come back to, stack the books you mean to read, and scatter the pencil sharpenings as…

CRIMETIME Magazine Review

To the Max: Maxim Jakubowski on New Crime Feb 18, 2020 http://www.crimetime.co.uk/to-the-max-maxim-jakubowski-on-new-crime-11/ S.E. Moorhead/WITNESS X (Trapeze) A futuristic crime thriller debut with much to admire, WITNESS X is set in the near future where neuroscientist Kyra Sullivan has developed a technique that allows her to delve into the mind of others, accessing their memories. Somewhat… Read more “CRIMETIME Magazine Review”

WITNESS X cover reveal!

Here it is! The wonderful cover for Witness X from the amazing team at Orion Design Team: Debbie Holmes, Joanna Ridley, Nick May, Clare Sivell, Helen Ewing, Jan Bielecki. I love the colours. I had expected it to be dark and grim, but instead it is a startling red against white! I love the falling… Read more “WITNESS X cover reveal!”

Fragile Lies

We all have that one book that didn’t quite make it. This is mine. It did, however, get me my agent, Nelle Andrew. Unfortunately, it didn’t sell to publishers and I know now that it was because I hadn’t crafted it well enough. I hadn’t learned enough by that stage to make it good enough.… Read more “Fragile Lies”

Sound, kidda!

http://bit.ly/38a5zne click on this link to hear a sample of Madeleine Brolly reading WITNESS X Audible book. A book is like a conversation – it needs two partners to fully realise it – a writer and a reader. It is a journey begun in the mind of the writer, and completed in the reader’s mind… Read more “Sound, kidda!”

Where do ideas come from?

‘Where do you get your ideas from?’ It’s a question most writers will be asked at some point. If you look around at the world, stories are everywhere – the latest news report, your grandfather’s adventures as a boy, a relationship between two famous people made public, a new type of scientific discovery that might… Read more “Where do ideas come from?”

Query letter

‘Life can only be understood backwards but it must be lived forwards.’  Søren Kierkegaard Dear AGENT, The above quote sets the scene for my novel FRAGILE LIES a psychological thriller about denial, revenge and fabricated lives. Elizabeth is desperate to prove that her childhood friend Michael, abducted twenty years ago, has returned and exacted revengeful… Read more “Query letter”

The Unbearable Lightness of Writing

  Writing, or as Juvenal the Roman poet put it, ‘the incurable writing disease’, should come with a health warning. In fact, judging by the many names that allude to the links between writing and mental health (‘graphomania’ from the Greek ‘writing’ plus ‘insanity’, ‘scribomania, ‘hypergraphia’ and ‘typomania’) it should positively be avoided. Aristotle pointed… Read more “The Unbearable Lightness of Writing”

Loading…

Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.